High Performance Computing (184.725) - Wintersemester 2021/22

Lecturer

Plan

It was intended to hold this lecture with actual, physical presence in the auditorium. Unfortunately, the current rules at the TU Wien makes this infeasible. Instead the lectures will be done in Zoom format with mandatory attendance, and later made available via TUWEL. The lectures take place on Mondays in the assigned slot. Slides and other material will be made available for download here and/or in TUWEL. There will be a discussion forum in TUWEL, and extra Zoom online-meetings and project discussions (TBA). As far as possible, the course will end with an oral exam in physical presence, also TBA. Should regulations get more manageable, the course may be moved to physical presence in lecture hall FAV 1 INF.

Lecture with practical project part (VU).

Overview

An overview of "High Performance Computing". Advanced MPI, efficient algorithms for MPI collectives on networks. Communication networks and routing. Performance and energy models, libraries, benchmarks, tools, and parallel file systems

Lectures, material

  1. Monday, 04.10.2021: Preliminaries and Introduction (Träff)
  2. Monday, 11.10.2021: HPC Overview, Motivation (Träff)
  3. Monday, 18.10.2021: HPC Overview, Architectures, Roofline (Träff)
  4. Monday, 25.10.2021: HPC Overview, Systems (Träff)
  5. Monday, 01.11.2021: All saints
  6. Monday, 8.11.2021: Advanced MPI 1/9 recap, matrix-vector multiplication, Cartesian topologies, process mapping (Träff)
  7. Monday, 15.11.2021: Advanced MPI 3/9 (Träff)
  8. Monday, 22.11.2021: Advanced MPI 4/9 (Träff)
  9. Monday, 29.11.2021: Advanced MPI 5/9 (Träff)
  10. Monday, 06.12.2021: Advanced MPI 6/9 (Träff)
  11. Monday, 13.12.2021: Advanced MPI 7/9 (Träff)
  12. Monday, 20.12.2021: Lecture free (Christmas)
  13. Monday, 27.12.2021: Lecture free (Christmas)
  14. Monday, 03.01.2022: Lecture free (Happy 2022)
  15. Monday, 10.01.2022: Advanced MPI 8/9 (Träff)
  16. Monday, 17.01.2022: TBA
  17. Monday, 24.1.2022: Exam (tentative)

Exercises/projects

Project assignments will be announced during the semester and will be made available on TUWEL.

Additional references and literature